Westchester DA named to Cuomo’s transition team

Westchester County District Attorney Janet DiFiore has been named to the public safety committee of Governor-Elect Andrew Cuomo’s transition team, which will recruit, review and recommend high-level people for posts in law enforcement, including counterterrorism.

“These appointments will affect the safety and protection of all New Yorkers on a daily basis, and come at a fiscally challenging time with terrorism a constant concern,” DiFiore said in a statement. “I look forward to the challenge and opportunity that lies ahead as the committee gets to work.”

The other committee members are New York City Police Commissioner Raymond Kelly, former Manhattan District Attorney Robert Morgenthau, former U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of New York Zachary Carter, and Franklin County District Attorney Derek Champagne, who is the president of the state District Attorney’s Association.

The Public Safety Committee is the second of three committees that Cuomo has announced prior to taking office on January 1.